Deploy and configure ClipBucket automatically

I’m new to ClipBucket. It’s a great platform and I’m excited to use it.

I’m trying to automate the process of deploying ClipBucket onto a new server using Ansible. I have successfully automated all the dependencies (LAMP stack, ffmpeg, etc.), but I’m wondering if there’s a way that I can use scripting to configure ClipBucket once it’s installed. I tend to wipe servers frequently, so I’d rather not have to manually click through the Setup wizard by hand, type my information, then find the settings I want to change in the configuration dashboard once ClipBucket is running.

Is any kind of scripting or automation possible for configuring ClipBucket’s settings? I’m talking about both the initial installation settings like the database details as well as the post-installation settings like conversion options and selected video player.

Thanks!

I’m glad that you are loving ClipBucket. After reading through your whole post, yes it is possible indeed. You can automate all of things mentioned above and we can build it for you.

Ask me any questions or create a ticket at our Official Client Area

Saqib Razzaq
ClipBucket Head

Hi Saqib,
Thanks for your reply.

I’m a developer, so I’m wondering if you had any advice for someone who was going to do this themselves. For example, is there a REST API or bash script I can call to perform the install and configuration that normally happens in the web browser? Or would I have to essentially imitate a human user by using something like Selenium or PhantomJS?

Thanks!

Hello @mtlynch

Good to know that you are a developer too. You don’t need to run the whole process that runs in browser if you are going to install it from script. Take a look at below steps to get some help.

1. Send in first request with database details
  2. Connect to database and create new database
  3. Run structure.sql,configs.sql and other similar files to fill your database